CWW: Big Lots is Coming

I noticed a Big Lots sign on the Greendale Mall a couple of weeks ago (sorry, no picture) and thought I was hallucinating, but then Dee confirmed that, yes, Big Lots is coming to the Greendale Mall in early November.

I love Big Lots.  It’s my primary source for Tom’s of Maine Cinnamint toothpaste, blue nail polish on deep discount, Dinosaur Soap (which we now have enough of a supply to last until we grow out of dinosaurs and into Legos), the random DeCecco product, and whatever else looks good. 

I believe my husband likes Big Lots because he has this conspiracy theory about how the dental establishment is forcing out firm-bristled toothbrushes, and his hobby is scouring odd lots stores for the firmest bristled toothbrushes he can find. 

Big Lots is also to blame for our owning nearly every character, major and minor, from Bob the Builder, in tiny die-cast detail.  Seriously, how many excavators can one stop-motion character (and, I suppose, his on-again-off-again-girlfriend/sexual harrassment lawsuit waiting to happen) possess before someone arranges for an intervention?

If you join the Big Lots Buzz Club, you can occasionally get a 20% off coupon.

Once it opens, I hope to do a post comparing this one to the one in Fitchburg (because the selection and vibe of a BL tends to be different from one store to the next).

7 thoughts on “CWW: Big Lots is Coming

  1. Sprout says:

    As someone who has seriously brushed the enamel right off her teeth with firm brushes, I implore you to convince your husband to convert to soft bristles!

    • Nicole says:

      Your experience is certainly valuable as a cautionary tale — but it’s hard to argue with the competing facts of my husband’s experience. He not only has no enamel problems after decades of firm brushes, he only got his first few (relatively minor) cavities in his late 30s. I suppose it flummoxes our dentist that firm bristles and unfluoridated water would yield such results (our dentist favors soft bristles and fluoridated water), but there you have it.
      The other common argument against firm bristles is that they may cause gum recession — but my husband also doesn’t have problems in that area, either.

  2. Nicole's husband says:

    I like Big Lots, but they don’t carry firm toothbrushes often. And my preferred brand is unavailable in the US:

    The Addis brush is marketed for smokers (which I’m not), but it’s equally helpful if you’re a tea drinker (which I am).

  3. Tracy says:

    Grand opening is the morning of November 19.

  4. Sprout says:

    I am cursed with bad dental genes, in spite of good dental hygiene.

  5. Anna says:

    I thought I saw the sign and had to confirm.
    Is this store like Ocean State Job Lot? Thanks!

    • Nicole says:

      It is, in that it sells odd lot type items. I’ve found that Big Lots stores tend to be bigger and carry less food than an Ocean State but more toys and tools.

Leave a Reply

