16 days and counting

Update: a few hours after this post went up, our street and the surrounding streets had their recycling picked up.  Unfortunately, the folks who follow the rules & brought their recycling in the previous night would not have had their stuff picked up. 

 

If anyone’s curious to see what two weeks of ignored recycling looks like, here’s a sample:

TwoWeeksOfRecycling

Recycling wasn’t picked up on Wildwood Avenue and surrounding areas on Thursday the 13th; there was some snow that afternoon, so the oversight might be forgiven.  The next scheduled pickup for that area was yesterday, the 21st.

Wildwood Avenue and environs was ignored once again yesterday — not sure if Casella’s experiencing a backlog, but we had no notice that it wouldn’t be picked up.

What will three weeks’ worth of recycling look like this coming Thursday?  Stay tuned to this blog to find out!

7 thoughts on “16 days and counting

  1. Patt Popple says:

    I would say that these folks need bigger bins regardless of the delays.

  2. Cecelia Mason says:

    Due to circumstances beyond my control, and had to remedy my recycling issue, I am requesting a reimbursement of $100.00 from either the City of Worcester MA or Casella Waste Management Services. For the past two weeks, my recycling was not picked up by Casella Waste Management. This failure of services has forced me to find an alternative solution. I had to find another way to have this service rendered to me. For this reason, I requesting that I be reimbursed.

    Cecelia Mason

  3. i live on Wildwood ave and never got any notice. I kept thinking I had the wrong day and the dpw# (508 9291300) never had the right information either

    I have been accumulating trash and recycling and taking it to dumpsters in my pickup truck, but most folks out here in worcester’s hillbilly district don’t have pickup trucks

    And the truth is, you can’t leave trash or recycling out on Wildwood for says on end because we are on the fringe of a large forested area too (in fact today I saw a 20-25 lb skunk 30′ from the back door at 9am)

  4. Joe says:

    Had you called the DPW service center before your recycling was picked up? Were they helpful?

    • Cecelia Mason says:

      Dear Joe,
      Due to circumstances beyond my control, and had to remedy my recycling issue, I am requesting a reimbursement of $100.00 from Casella Waste Management Services. For the past two weeks, my recycling was not picked up by Casella Waste Management. This failure of services has forced me to find an alternative solution. Since I had to find another way to have this service rendered to me, I request that I be reimbursed.
      Cecelia Mason

    • Nicole says:

      I had not, because oftentimes the reycling pickup is on the later end (3:30/4pm-after 5pm). By the time we realized that our recycling wasn’t picked up, it was after 5.

      One of the things this has made me wonder about is whether we have any contingency plans for when a storm occurs on the same day of the week two weeks in a row; for instance, if there were a snowstorm that prevented recycling (or especially trash!) pickup two weeks in a row, could the folks on that day get pickup the following day?

      • Cecelia Mason says:

        Yes I did call DPW. Four times on last Friday. I spoke to a Ron. He continued to tell me that he put the order in. He was unable to get this matter resolved. Cecelia Mason

Leave a Reply

