Cemetery Barn – May Update

At the last meeting of the Hope Cemetery Commission, we walked through the barn with the Friends of Hope to review the condition.

As I said a couple of weeks ago, I thought we would receive an engineering report and some options and associated costs.  We still have not received a report in writing.

I’d also mentioned that the Friends had commissioned an extensive study in 2007.  I’ve posted it to Google Docs, and though I have not read it all, I will before the next meeting.  The report in six years old, but it is a good look at the issues and conditions of all aspects of the barn.

The next meeting of the Hope Cemetery Commission is June 25th at 4:00pm.  We are expecting to see a full report as well as some options and prices for what needs to happen with the barn.  If this is something you care about, please attend or let me know your concerns.

A few other items of general interest:

The BBC’ World Service’s late, great One Planet program had had an excellent episode discussing green burial.

I am a big fan of BBC Radio 4’s Thinking Allowed, which discusses sociological research.   (I often listen to it while getting ready in the morning, and can frequently be heard shouting “Give ’em hell, Laurie!” from the shower.)  They have an archive of programs about sex and death.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

