A trip down (and up) memory lane

Today is the first the anniversary of the closing of Putnam Lane, so I thought you might enjoy one last round-trip excursion along the doomed street as it would have appeared had you been tied to the hood of my car last May:

I’d like to dedicate this video to the late Jeff Barnard, who, like me, wasn’t especially enamored of Putnam Lane, but who harbored a very healthy skepticism about what the deal with CSX would mean for Worcester (though he was ultimately supportive of it and much more positive than I was).

For a different sort of trip down memory lane, here are some links to some of Jeff’s posts about CSX’s rail yard expansion in Worcester:

CSX Expansion in Worcester

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Continued

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 3

CSX and Lower Grafton Street

CSX and Putnam Lane

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 4

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 5

Quote of the Day

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 6

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 7

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 8

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 9

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 10

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 11

Is it Really Over

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 12

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 13

Curtis Apartments Putnam Lane

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 14

CSX Expansion in Worcester, Part 15

Reading through some of those reminds me that Jeff’s voice in this community has still not been replaced.  When I post random photos on this blog from around central Massachusetts, I think of Jeff & include the “Wormtown Fleet” logo as below, but my contribution to the Worcester dialogue pales compared to Jeff’s.

2 thoughts on “A trip down (and up) memory lane

  1. Angela says:

    Oh, how I miss Putnam Lane. But, alas, in the name of progress, or shall I say, money, it is long gone. Funny how one learns to completely avoid an area once the route has changed. I’ll have to spend some time perusing Jeff’s posts.

  2. Mike G says:

    I don’t know if he ever can be replaced, but I think you do a fine job with the mantle you have established.

Leave a Reply

