False Imprisonment

I bet you thought this post was going to be some rant about pointless excursions to Secure Communities-ville!

Don’t worry, chickadees; I’ll likely have multiple posts later on about What The Hell Happened Last Night.  I’m still trying to process it myself.

No, this is about a bug that hitched a ride.

A week and a half ago, my husband and I did some trash cleanup on Swan Avenue.  One of the items dumped was a (perfectly fine) Little Tikes Tugboat sandbox.

We were going to leave it on our lawn with a free sign on it, but our kids wanted it, so now it’s sitting in the backyard.

Shortly after its arrival, our younger son saw a small bug on the sandbox and called my husband and I to look at it.

It was smaller than every model of an ALB I’ve ever seen, and duller (dark brown versus the ALB’s deep black), but it had banded antennae, so we figured we’d put it in a pill box and wait for a Novickian ruling on its identity.

Unfortunately, it took a bit of time for Colin to fully calm my worries, so the poor bug was in that pill box for nearly a day.

We released him and hopefully he’s off doing buggy things.


One thought on “False Imprisonment

  1. Tracy Novick says:

    He’s a longhorn, but not an ALB. Kind of a cute little guy, huh?

Leave a Reply

