Deed Rock/God’s Acre, of interest

Just a friendly reminder that we’ll be having an Earth Day cleanup for God’s Acre/Swan Avenue on Saturday, May 1 from 8am to noon followed by pizza.  If you can’t make it to the whole thing, come for as long as you can.  If you want to show up really early, my husband and I will probably be out there starting at 6am to take care of a few isolated areas.  I’ve put together a map for how to get to the cleanup from Mill Street.

Also, I’ve been trying to do some research on the web to put together a brochure on God’s Acre (to accompany a more detailed trail map) — though I know that eventually I’ll have to go to the Worcester Room to do more research.

So, here’s a list of T&G articles you might enjoy (and might need a library card number for):

October 11, 1991: a completely wonderful Jim Dempsey column on God’s Acre.

June 10, 1992: yet another completely wonderful Jim Dempsey column about Solomon Parsons.

June 15, 1994: and still another great Jim Dempsey column on the area.

October 16, 1995: brief mention of Solomon Parsons in an article about the cider mill parcel.

October 26, 1997: The city’s then-marketing director, Kevin O’Sullivan, sees God’s Acre and says, “Just look at this. The idea that all the economic development is downtown isn’t the complete picture. No other city can offer this. This is product,” he said, referring to the potential for outdoor experiences offered by the trail.

July 22, 1999: an REC-led walk for inner city kids, featuring wild blueberries.

May 26, 2002: discussion of how the city could reduce illegal dumping in the area by the excellent Roger Leo.  After this article was published, the city did close off part of Paris Avenue, and that was cleaned up last year.

13 thoughts on “Deed Rock/God’s Acre, of interest

  1. Bob Q says:

    HI NICOLE:

    Impressive as always but all but the first two hotlinks require something called a ProQuest login which is something that I’m not familiar with. When I have the time I’ll figure out how to do that.

    Bob Q.

  2. W. W. Will says:

    Earth Day huh?
    What a foolish endeavor.
    Once a year a bunch of fools take 4 hours to clean-up 364 days of accumulated trash etc., and then ignore it for 364 days.

    Pizza huh? What about beer?

  3. W. W. Will says:

    Bobby Q,
    consider what I wrote. Contemplate the ratio 1 : 365. Anything dawn on you?

    • Bob Q says:

      WILL:

      I have contemplated the ratio and it’s a shame

      Just a little bit of effort on each person’s part on a daily basis would make all the difference in the world.

      There are numerous cleanups happening on Earth Day. I hope you pick one and try it out.

      Bobby Q.

      • Nicole says:

        I’ll try to take a picture of the cans and bottles I fill in my walks (enough to fill a 30-gallon container every week) and post it at some point. Will is preaching to the choir, because I’m usually picking up other people’s trash every day.

  4. t-traveler says:

    http://www4.ci.worcester.ma.us/weblink7/DocView.aspx?id=376237&searchhandle=121

    see top of page 6, theres still a plan to close Swan AVenue

  5. t-traveler says:

    does the rock still have graffiti

  6. Mac Martin says:

    Hi Nicole. I’m considering moving to the area for school and like the website and clean-up effort. Considered the streets around God’s acre for renting but it seems super expensive. If graffiti and trash are as bad as it sounds, someone like me should look further away from town. I thank everyone pitching in for 2013 Earth Day and by the way, if anyone can point me towards affordable housing away from airport noise, highway noise and sirens I’m all ears: blackrm79@yahoo.com

    Thanx and kudos to the Do-gooders on 4-22-13,

    Mac

    • Nicole says:

      Mac, I’m not sure how much “further from town” one can get than my ‘hood. and I’d suspect this is one of the quieter neighborhoods in the city. No place is perfect; this one is worth fighting for.

Leave a Reply

