What I Learned from Blogs This Week

WoMag on Tap
As evidenced by this picture, I was a WorcesterMag on Tap last night.  Because Irish language evangelism usually occurs on Thursday nights, I’ll likely not be able to make the next few of these, so if you missed me, sorry!

It was great to meet Bill, Paul, and Tina, and a frequent commenter who will remain nameless, and to see some of you again.  As always, I am overwhelmed by the kindness shown to me by so many.

What you missed if you weren’t there:
Me being introduced to Tim McGourthy; actual conversation with translation:
McGourthy: “Hey, you were at the Courthouse Redevelopment Hearing!”
(Translation: “You’re that kooky chick who wants an equestrian statue in her front yard!”)
Nicole: “Yes, that was me.”
(Translation: “I’m still in the market for large statues of Civil War heroes, so call me when one comes up for sale!”)

I was also asked whether M. G. being my favorite city councilor started as a joke and is now real, or if it’s still a joke, or if it was always real.  I was somehow able to avoid that question; my response for now — let’s see how he votes on a pit bull ordinance.

You also missed me waxing poetic about saving Boswell, Dr. Johnson, Pepys and Proust until my older years, and how I really think this is the year I’m going to read War & Peace (I’m already on page 70!).  But maybe it’s better that you missed that.

Administrative Stuff
I’ll be putting up a few items on the Virtual Assignment Desk for next week.  If you register at the WorcesterActivist site, you can update this as well.  I’m also thinking of writing a larger post on what I’d like to see in citizen journalism, so stay tuned for that.

If you don’t have a blog but want to report on something, let me know and I’ll post it here.  Also, please feel free to send in nominations for “What I Learned from Blogs This Week.”  I tend to collect news-ish items during the week, but please let me know if I’ve missed anything of note.

Contests & Other Publicity
If case you know someone who could benefit from this…My friend Emily at River Valley Acupuncture will be holding the first Veterans Acupuncture Care (VAC) clinic in Worcester at Dodge Park Rest Home on March 10 from 5:30pm-7:30pm.  We’ll get up more detailed information before the event.

Food drive at Sprout.

For those of you interested in genealogy, Finding your Irish Ancestors at the Main Library- March 9!  (You can find all genealogy events at the library by filtering on  “Genealogy Program” on the Calendar of Events.)

Union Music 100th anniversary.

Women’s History Month Resources here.

What I Learned This Week
RMV fee controversy: everyone’s fault, or just the luddites?

Chandler Elementary and Union Hill commentary.

Tracy on Legislative Tea, Program Quality Assurance presentation, school choice.  School Committee: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20)

Lance had great Deval Patrick lead analysis.

Worcester’s worst mural, via twitter.

Two (make that three!) reasons to follow albtweets.

Jeff on taxicabs vs. liveries, video for Meanwhile… and other Worcester-related video,

Bill on signage.

Karl on the need for links and larger pictures in online news.

Video game programming, uniformity, Good News, gold stars, the Old Man on the Snowdrift, Putnam Lane, book signings, unrequited love, tags, “tools.”

T&G Letter of the Week
Regardless what you think of the motivations of the author of this letter – and you can read the comments for suggestions on what they may be — this letter and its comments were the most interesting thing I read today.

Social Media and the City
Regarding the Worcester PD and twitter: I found out about a robbery at Commerce Bank from Bill Randell’s blog HOURS before WPD put it on Twitter.  Another example: fire at Ha-Tien on Main Street via Worcesteria, and nothing yet from the WPD. (Though this was not a horrible lag time, I guess.)

Regarding DPW and Twitter/Facebook: I think they do a pretty good job of using social media, and I know that you can report potholes on their website.  But what if they did a post like this, saying “we’re going to be in this area working on potholes; let us know so we can address them all”?

The Week in Southwick
Albert Southwick discusses the Shakers this week.  I wish that he’d been able to expand on this more; someone commented on his column (regarding Jeffery Amherst) that they wished Southwick had analyzed Amherst’s treatment of American Indians.  One could have a similar comment to this post: was it just the Shakers’ celibacy that caused their decline, or did the Industrial Revolution contribute as well?  (Alas, for those of us who are Southwick fans, one short column a week is just  not enough!)

There was a great article in the Boston Globe last Sunday about one of the four remaining Shakers who left the sect.  For the author of an article on the last remaining Shakers.  (Now, needless to say, there are three.)

3 thoughts on “What I Learned from Blogs This Week

  1. t-traveler says:

    parking privatization …it’s back!!

    Request City Manager update City Council concerning the potential of leasing city assets such as parking garages and meters to an investment company which could create millions of dollars in upfront money to invest in our city infrastructure such as streets, sidewalks, and school buildings.(Smith)

    http://nicolecommawoo.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/parking-privatization-december-3-edition/

  2. Tracy says:

    You know, every time I think I’ve had a slow week, I come here and discover that maybe I posted a lot after all!

  3. t-traveler says:

    re: war and peace, are we going to get an update? is their a standard translation? have you seen the henry fonda movie

Leave a Reply

